Laws on Devolution

Laws on Devolution

The Constitution of Kenya, 2010 creates a decentralized system of government wherein two of the three arms of government; namely the Legislature and the Executive are devolved to the 47 Political and Administrative Counties as provided for under Article 6 and specified in the First Schedule.

The primary objective of decentralization is to devolve power, resources and representation down to the local level. To this end, various laws have been enacted by Parliament to create strategies for the implementation framework and the adoption on which objectives of devolution can be achieved.

Click on Act to Download

Act NameSubsidiary
Basic Education Act, No 14 of 2013Subsidiary
Constituencies Development Fund Act, No. 30 of 2013
Constitution of Kenya, 2010Subsidiary
County Governments Act, No. 17 of 2012 
County Governments Public Finance Management Transition Act, No 8 of 2013 
Intergovernmental Relations Act, No. 2 of 2012 
National Government Co-ordination Act, No. 1 of 2013 
Public Finance Management Act, No. 18 of 2012Subsidiary
Transition to Devolved Government Act, No. 7 of 2013Subsidiary
Urban Areas and Cities Act, No. 13 of 2011

Public Service (Values and Principles) (No.1A of 2015)